Around a quarter of vehicle crashes in Florida involve a hit and run, where one driver leaves the scene of an accident without performing their legal due diligence and giving the other driver their information.
If you have been involved in a hit and run, it is important you stay on the scene, exchange information with other involved drivers, and report the accident to law enforcement. Fleeing the scene means facing serious consequences—including jail time, fines, and losing your license. These penalties can be life-changing.
If you have been accused of committing a hit and run, we are here to defend YOU. Mike G is a hit and run defense attorney who has served countless clients across Tampa Bay—and our team is here to help you next.
If you are being investigated for a potential hit and run or are currently facing charges, contact Mike G Law today.
How Florida Defines Hit and Runs
The State of Florida defines hit and runs as leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling the statutory duties that are outlined in the Florida legal code. Victims of a hit and run can include other drivers, pedestrians, bicyclists, and motorcyclists.
- Stop at the scene of the accident. You must stop your vehicle as close as possible to the scene of the accident as is reasonably safe.
- Give information. Drivers of any cars involved in a crash must give other drivers and law enforcement officers their names, addresses, and vehicle registration information.
- Show your license. You must present your driver’s license when asked by the other party or by a law enforcement officer.
- Render aid when necessary. You are required by law to call an ambulance if you see that someone else has been hurt or if they ask you to call for medical assistance.
- Leave a note and call law enforcement. If you damage a parked car and cannot find the owner, you must leave a note with your contact information in a conspicuous place on the vehicle. You must also contact law enforcement to inform them of the damage.
If you fail to do any of these, you may potentially be subject to hit and run charges.
But what happens in cases where you perform your due diligence and still get a call from police accusing you of leaving the scene of an accident? What happens if the other driver tries to threaten you at the scene and you leave for your own safety?
In cases like that, you need a hit and run defense attorney in your court. When you contact Mike G Law, we listen to your case and we are on your side. Our goal is to fight for a fair and equitable resolution for you, no matter the details of your case.
Fines, Sentencing & Other Penalties for Hit and Runs in Florida
There can be serious consequences for those who are found leaving the scene of a hit and run, especially if someone was hurt in the crash. We advise all of our clients to never speak to another party’s legal team or law enforcement without an attorney present—because sometimes your well-intentioned words may be used against you in a court of law. Instead, let us help by talking to the courts and law enforcement for you.
Penalties can become more severe when alcohol or other substances are involved.
If Property Was Damaged
If the only property was damaged during a hit and run (for example, you damaged someone’s bumper or took out their side-view mirror), you could potentially be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor. That could involve jail time of up to 60 days and a fine of up to $500.
If Someone Got Injured
If someone was injured in a hit and run accident and you are found responsible, you may be charged with a third-degree felony and face a maximum of 5 years in prison, fines of up to $5,000, and up to 5 years probation. You may also have your license revoked for at least 3 years.
If Someone Died
Accidents where someone gets injured and dies have the most severe penalties for the party found guilty. These situations can result in first-degree felony charges, up to 30 years in prison, a license revocation of at least 3 years, and fines of up to $10,000. This includes situations where someone dies of their injuries even after the accident happened. At a minimum, drivers found guilty of causing a fatality after a hit and run will face 4 years in prison.
How Mike G Law Can Help You
A hit and run defense attorney can help you navigate the legal system and defend your rights. With Mike G on your side, you will get someone who cares about your case and who will work tirelessly to ensure you get a fair legal outcome.
If you are being charged with a hit and run, call Mike G Law today to meet with our team. Click here to schedule a free case consultation or call 813-221-4303 today.