3 key drug laws in Florida
- On behalf of Mike G Law posted in Drug Possession on Friday, April 29, 2016
Tourists and Florida residents alike need to make sure they are well versed in the state’s many drug regulation laws. Below are three key laws to keep in mind:
— Marijuana is illegal, and the majority of the possession charges handed out in the state qualify as third-degree felonies. The punishment for breaking this law could be five years behind bars and fines of up to $5,000.
However, possession of a very small amount of marijuana—under 20 grams—is not a felony, but a first-degree misdemeanor. This means you’d see no more than one year in jail and fines would only reach a maximum of $1,000.
— Rohypnol is illegal, even if you just possess it and you never use it. Commonly referred to as roofies, it can get you felony charges that lead to five years behind bars and up to $5,000 in fines.
When a roofie is used, the charges change dramatically. Putting one in a person’s drink could get you as many as 15 years behind bars and a $10,000 fine. Engaging in sexual acts with a person who has taken a roofie without consenting to it could bring about charges of rape or sexual battery, which can lead to as many as 30 years in jail.
— It is illegal to possess or inhale nitrous oxide. If you are caught with under 16 grams, you could just be looking at a $500 fine and 60 days behind bars. If you have more than 16 grams, though, you could get five years and a $5,000 fine.
When accused of breaking any of these laws or the other drug laws in the state, you have the right to a fair trial.
Source: University of Tampa, "Florida Alcohol and Drug Laws," accessed April 29, 2016