What constitutes drug possession in the state of Florida?
- On behalf of Mike G Law posted in Drug Possession on Tuesday, August 4, 2015
In the Florida statutes, there is a list of drugs that are not allowed to be manufactured, sold, delivered or even to be in your possession. Possession of these drugs or an obvious possession of the ingredients of an illegal drug is a violation of the law.
If you have illegal drugs on your body, you can be charged with a second-degree felony that can lead to jail time and a fine. You can also be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor for possession of marijuana that, while less jail time, can give you a record that prevents you from getting certain employment opportunities.
Possessing a controlled substance is a crime. You may not realize it, but even if you are merely a bystander or a passenger in a car that has the controlled substance in it, you can be brought up on charges if the police are unclear who the drugs belong to.
If you possess illegal drugs within 1,000 feet of a childcare facility or, a school — either private or public — you may be charged with a greater crime and put in jail. Also, if you are within 1,000 feet of a park or a community or recreational facility, you can be arrested and charged with a felony.
Knowing what you need to do to be safe is important. Knowing the law is equally as important because you may not realize what the law says about the drug that you have in your possession.
The laws are what they are and they are there to keep us all safe. Knowing these laws can help you in the long run if you are unsure what an illegal drug is and what is not allowed in the state of Florida.
Source: Florida Statutes, "Drug abuse prevention and control," accessed Aug. 04, 2015