What do I need to register as a sexual offender or sexual predator?
- On behalf of Mike G Law posted in Sex Offenses on Monday, February 29, 2016
WHAT ARE THE BASIC REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SEX OFFENDERS AND PREDATORS, INCLUDING JUVENILE OFFENDERS?
Sexual offenders must complete a registration form at their county sheriff’s office either twice a year (birth month and every 6th month thereafter) or four times a year (birth month and every 3rd month thereafter) depending upon their offense. For a list of qualifying offenses for quarterly registration please refer to Florida Statute 943.0435(14)(b).
Sexual predators, some sexual offenders, and juvenile sexual offenders must report four times a year (birth month and every 3rd month thereafter).
Sexual offenders/predators must update their driver license or identification card within 48 hours after any change to their residence (permanent, temporary, or transient) or name.
Sexual offenders/predators MUST maintain registration for the duration of their life.
All qualifying sexual offenders, sexual predators, and juvenile sexual offenders will be listed on the public registry website.
Registrants are required to report to the sheriff’s office where they reside and provide the following information, which is public unless exempt or confidential, including but not limited to:
- Date of birth
- Social security number
- Height and weight
- Hair and eye color
- Tattoos or other identifying marks
- Palm prints
- Occupation and place of employment
- Residential address(es) including transient (i.e. homeless)
- Vehicle information
- All home telephone numbers and cellular telephone numbers
- All electronic mail addresses and internet identifiers
- Conviction information
- Passport information
- Immigration status/documentation
- Professional license information
HOW OFTEN IS THE FLORIDA SEXUAL OFFENDER AND PREDATOR REGISTRY UPDATED?
The public registry website is updated on a "real-time", continuous basis as new information is received from FDLE’s criminal justice partner agencies.
DO JUVENILE SEX OFFENDERS AND PREDATORS HAVE TO REGISTER AS WELL?
Juvenile sexual offenders are required to register in Florida if he/she:
Has been convicted as an adult for a qualifying sexual offense and meets the criteria in Florida Statute 943.0435 or 775.21 to register as a sexual offender or predator;
Was adjudicated delinquent on or after July 1, 2007 for a qualifying sexual offense in this state or a similar offense in another jurisdiction when the juvenile was 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense (F.S. 943.0435(1)(a)1.d).
If you are charged with a crime that carries certain registration requirements make sure you understand what those are and comply. Failure to do so will result in new felony charges and violation of probation or community control, if those apply. At Mike G Law Tampa Sex Crimes Attorney, Mike Gonzalez will make sure our clients understand not only what those requirements are but how to make sure they comply with the law. These conditions unlike probation conditions are not negotiable. If you fail to follow the law you can be sentenced up to five years in prison for missing a registration deadline by only a few days. Questions? Call our office at 813-221-4303 for your free consultation!